Two Thousand Eleven

Happy 2011 everyone!

I hope your transition out of 2010 and into a fresh/brand new/clean slate 2011 was absolutely fabulous.

My year started off sweetly with these healthy and easy multigrain pancakes I decided to whip up for breakfast.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Old Fashioned (not instant) Oatmeal

1/4 cup Low Fat Cottage Cheese

4 Egg Whites

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1/2 tsp Cinnamon (optional)

1/2 tsp Nutmeg (optional)

Process everything in a blender (I use a Magic Bullet) until smooth. Spray a non-stick skillet with cooking spray, pour batter and cook on medium heat until both sides are lightly browned.

You can also add extras to your batter to make banana, blueberry or even chocolate chip pancakes. Yum!

 

Stencil Instructions:

To make 2011 pancakes like these, I cut out numbered stencils on a thick piece of cardstock. You could also use refrigerator magnets or any other flat surfaced objects to make different shapes or spell out words. How cute would hearts be for Valentine’s Day?

Lay your stencil flat on the pancake and sprinkle powdered sugar through a mesh strainer on top. Carefully remove your stencil or object to see your festive and impressive pancakes!

 

Additionally, as one of my many resolutions for 2011 I’ve decided to take on a personal challenge of blogging at least once per week. Hopefully there won’t be any need to help keep me accountable, but if I slip, feel free to send me an email telling me to get my act together :)

 

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Recipes

One response to “Two Thousand Eleven

  1. carol

    What a darling, festive presentation!! The recipe sounds healthy and tasty and the dishes are so cute!!

Leave a Reply

