Twenty-Five: Pirate Party Yacht Cruise

I’m sorry for the hiatus that has been the past week. During that time I was offered a full time events position, saw one of my favorite bands in concert and turned 25!

My admission into the Quarter-Century Club couldn’t have been any more perfect. I celebrated with a pirate-themed party on a yacht cruising around Newport Harbor, because how can you have a pirate party unless it’s on a boat, right? My thoughts exactly. Sadly, between the set-up time crunch and having to greet my guests off-site, I was unable to take any high quality pictures :( Thank you to a few of my friends who were able to snap these before everything was pounced upon!

Guests enjoyed a treasure-themed dessert table which featured smore pops (so easy! so good!), brownie bites with white chocolate skulls, X cookies, and licorice. Brown paper bags with a “Booty Bag” pirate graphic on them were provided in case anyone wanted some sweets for the road. And of course, every birthday party needs a gorgeous cake! This one was made by Orange County bakery Cinderella Cakes and tasted absolutely delicious.

For some of the decorative extras, I painted a cardboard X from Joann’s with metallic gold paint (remember these letters HERE?), burned the edges of a treasure map, sprinkled coins and jewels around the table, and painted wooden signs. This “X Marks the Spot” sign is made from an unfinished fence post purchased at Home Depot for .97 cents that I sawed in half and then hammered together. The idea to make the garlands came from HERE, and I gave them a pirate touch by gluing the letters onto a 3/4 inch thick rope instead of twine. I also made others that said “Drink Up Me Hearties” for over the bar, and “Yo Ho Yo Ho A Pirate’s Life For Me” that I hung around the boat.

Can anything beat this view?

Thank you all for the best birthday ever!

 

Vendor Guide:
Event Design & Coordination: Ashley Kemp from Live Laugh Celebrate Events
Cake: Cinderella Cakes
Venue: Admiral Yacht Charters, White Light yacht

1 Comment

Filed under Birthday Parties, Real Parties

One response to “Twenty-Five: Pirate Party Yacht Cruise

  1. Dolores Fugate ( De De )

    You are amazing !!! Did you ever think about being an author ? You could write a great book about event planning. Fine job !!!
    DDK

Leave a Reply

